Ontario's Bluewater regions have museums that represent heritage and history that is unique to their counties and districts. Some municipalities also have their own distinct museums and archives that highlight local community "gems". Most museums also host special events and children's fun programs every year.
The Marine Museum is located at the Goderich harbour in the wheelhouse of the “S.S. Shelter Bay”. It contains nautical artifacts, intriguing photographs, paintings and various ship models. The Marine Heritage Walkway features signs that describe hidden points of interest and history about the town’s waterfront along the beach paths, harbours and bluff lookouts. The Sifto salt mine operates a veritable underground city of roadways and chambers that extend more than 3 km beneath Lake Huron, 540 metres below the surface. The mine can produce close to 9 million tonnes of salt
Northwinds Beach is located directly beside Highway 26 at Craigleith, where visitors can enjoy a sheltered, sandy pocket along a shoreline dominated by shale ledges where anglers can drive directly up to the edge of Georgian Bay to fish from their vehicles. During summer, the beach is a popular spot for windsurfing, paddle boarding and kayaking rentals. The Mary Ward shipwreck and Nottawasaga Lighthouse lie 4 km offshore where they can be viewed by boat. Just across the highway, Craigleith Heritage Depot has a visitor information centre and museum that exhibit Petun First Nation
The Gore Bay & Western Manitoulin Museum is located at the end of Dawson Street at the top of the hill next to the courthouse where it once served as the jail and jailer's residence. An 1890 jail cell is still intact, complete with inscribed prisoners’ graffiti. The building has unusual artifacts and photographs of the town's early settlers. The museum contains marine relics from the days when Gore Bay was a shipping port and a collection of military artifacts from both World Wars. Visitors can see extraordinary mounted birds and fossils that are all indigenous to the island. A
Cabot Head Road runs through the hamlet of Dyer's Bay and becomes increasingly austere until it reaches the lonely promontory. The Cabot Head Lighthouse, built in 1896, is a museum that contains nature displays and historical artifacts. The tower provides a panoramic view of the shoreline. A walkway leads to the Wingfield Basin and the shoreline lookout has a picnic area. Several shipwrecks lie within the natural harbour and they can be easily explored by snorkeling. Towering cliffs of the Cabot Head Provincial Nature Reserve make an impressive backdrop to this esoteric place. Nestled
Billy Bishop Home was built in 1884 and showcases the Bishop family history. It is also the boyhood home of William Avery “Billy” Bishop, the charismatic hero of the Great War. An adventurous, mischievous and restless spirit, Billy was driven to be the best in all he did. Special programming includes, but is not limited to: Victorian Teas (summer and Christmas); Veterans' Commemoration ceremonies; ghost walks; summer children’s programs; Trivia Night; Victorian Christmas; and Bringing the Museum to You. Visit us to view ever changing exhibits on
Nestled in rural Lambton County you will find the Oil Museum of Canada at the southern outskirts of the Village of Oil Springs. This National Historic Site provides an opportunity to learn about a fascinating era in Canada's history and the birthplace of the modern oil industry. Uncover the birth and growth stories of this new industry at the time, as well as social life in the early oil boom town of Oil Springs and the industry's evolvement when and after activity moved eight miles north to Petrolia. Imagine the strange sights, sounds and stories. History happened here in the Oil
Port Carling overlooks the boat locks between Lake Rosseau and Lake Muskoka where heritage steam ships Segwun and Wenonah II cruise through the channels. Bridge lifts are a regular occurrence when the ships move through the locks, providing a good photo opportunity for people who like to watch big machinery in action. Sunset Cruises' Peerless II gives sightseeing, sunset and dinner cruises from Port Carling locks and the classic wooden yacht Idyllwood provides intimate tours for groups up to 12 passengers to the most scenic nooks of the Muskoka Lakes. The Port Carling Wall is the
The Muskoka Lakes Museum is beautifully located in Port Carling (the hub of the Muskoka Lakes) on scenic James Bartleman Island Park. The island is situated between both the large and small locks, and provides picnic tables and newly renovated washroom facilities. The island is accessed by a footbridge off the main street (Joseph Street) in the centre of the village. Parking space is on nearby village streets, behind the Library or at the Community Centre. Activities: Several museum-wide scavenger hunts are available anytime to engage school-age children to explore and discover fun
The Greater Sudbury Museums tell fascinating stories about each part of the region. Explore Anderson Farm Museum to see how Finnish farmers cultivated a prosperous dairy farm out of the bush and discover the secrets of local ghost towns. The farm exhibits beautiful antique home furnishings, a milking parlour, stables and a full complement of agricultural equipment to explore. Anderson Farm Museum also hosts events July to August such as Rock the Farm Farmers’ Markets Wednesdays 4-8 p.m. with free Music Concerts 6-8 p.m. Its Fall Fair is held mid-September. The museum opens daily 10
An Inaugural Tourism Federation of Ontario's Innovation Award Winner, nominated by Attractions Ontario in 2003. This mini-golf is said to be best in the world, featuring seven unique courses, a total of 63 holes with dinosaur and dragon exhibits, both realistic and fantastic. Visitors walk through a 22 by 18-foot steel dragon skull to enter the park. Exquisite metal sculptures of dinosaurs and dragons preside over holes fashioned from angular and curved steel rails, ensuring unpredictable surprises that will make you laugh and have lots of fun. Play any combination you like to ensure a unique
This private museum has an international collection of some 6,000 objects all artistically displayed in a historic gallery setting. From unusual fossils to rare and remarkable gems, dinosaurs and artifacts, our vast collection is always on permanent display, with regular new additions. Of particular interest are the extensive exhibits of colourful, exotic insects, shark jaws, seashells, fluorescent minerals and one of the largest displays of mounted bears in Canada.Whether you're looking to while away a rainy afternoon with your kids or booking a bus trip full of budding entomologists,
Every year thousands of visitors arrive at the Bruce Power Visitors’ Centre to learn more about nuclear energy and electricity generation. Looking out over the world’s largest nuclear power facility, the Visitors’ Centre is located north of Tiverton, adjacent to Ontario’s first commercial wind farm, Huron Wind. It is open year-round Monday to Friday as well as weekends in July and August; closed statutory and year-end holidays. Admission is free with complimentary Wi Fi and electric car charging stations. A picnic area with tables is available during the warmer months
The Leamington Arts Centre is located in the heart of beautiful uptown Leamington in one of the town’s many wonderful heritage buildings. The LAC is a state of the art gallery which offers three exhibition spaces with over 300 linear feet of continuous wall space and 2000 square feet of floor space, as well as the Erie Quest Heritage Ship Wreck Museum, Heinz memorabilia exhibit, gift shop, art classes, workshops and meeting spaces. The LAC is one of the area’s paramount places to view modern art with an emphasis on local and aspiring artists and artisans.
Tobermory’s two national parks feature an exciting Visitor Centre, located on Chi sin tib dek Road or off Head Street at the southeast edge of the village. Exhibits explain the fascinating geology, ecology and cultural history of the parks with a tour through a mock-up cave, secrets of the underwater park and a miniature lighthouse. A film show takes visitors on a helicopter ride over the peninsula’s most spectacular scenery. Interpretive programs put people in touch with indigenous plants and animals they might encounter in the wild. A 20-metre high, wooden lookout tower, the
At the remote western tip of Manitoulin Island stands the Mississagi Lighthouse Heritage Park. Its austere, surrounding landscape is fascinating to explore. Deep rock crevices and grottos indent the shoreline, and limestone ledges are ideal for swimming and diving. The old foghorn station, lighthouse and originally furnished light keeper’s home open for tours as a museum during summer.
Billings Township on Manitoulin Island, adjoins the North Channel close to the famous Benjamin Islands boating area. The port village of Kagawong has harbour facilities for small and large boats, and marine repair facilities are located nearby. Reach Kagawong by Highway 540, between M’Chigeeng and Gore Bay. The community offers a fine swimming beach with public washrooms, playground and basketball court. The mechanical parts of the former hydro generating station and fishing steamboat are displayed by the beach. The Old Mill Heritage Centre & Post Office Museum displays a handmade
The story of ‘Anne of Green Gables’ comes alive at Bala’s Museum, with costumes for boys and girls and photo ops from scenes out of ‘Anne’. Photograph the famous Anne & Diana Tea Party; Anne saving Minnie May’s life and Anne thwacking Gilbert with her slate. Marvel at the world’s largest replica Green Gables dollhouse. Shop in Canada’s best Anne of Green Gables Gift Shop & Bookstore. The museum itself is the former Tourist Home where ‘Anne’ author, Lucy Maud Montgomery and her family ate meals daily for 2 weeks in the summer
Science North inspires people of all ages to engage with the science in the world around them. Science North's fun and friendly approach to science education is led by Bluecoats - real scientists and science communicators who make interacting with the exhibits and live ambassador animals even more informative and fun. NEW! IMAX® with Laser ‒ February 2016 Science North is proud to be among the first IMAX® theatres in Canada to offer moviegoers the latest in IMAX technology. IMAX with Laser represents a quantum leap forward in cinema experiences with the sharpest, brightest,
Parry Sound’s Charles W. Stockey Centre for the Performing Arts overlooks the waterfront as the crowning jewel of the community. It proudly holds the Bobby Orr Hall of Fame, which pays tribute to the hockey hero’s accomplishments through a film, memorabilia and interactive hockey games. The Festival Performance Hall hosts the Festival of the Sound, which is Canada's premier summer music festival mid-July to mid-August on beautiful Georgian Bay. The acoustically perfect concert hall, licensed bar and waterfront patio make this a memorable venue as patrons can watch stunning
Kincardine Lighthouse is perhaps the best known lighthouse on Lake Huron since it directly overlooks the harbour close to the downtown core. The 24-metre high, octagonal tower is topped by an iron cupola and stands above the former lightkeeper's quarters. Since 1881 keepers fueled the light with kerosene to guide ships into the busy harbour until the beacon was replaced by an electric light in 1922. The building now houses the Kincardine Yacht Club and the museum where visitors may explore intriguing marine heritage displayed throughout its yacht club lounge, bedrooms, navigation room and
Fathom Five National Marine Park contains both significant geological and man-made heritage sites such as unusual rock formations, shipwrecks and lighthouses. Flowerpot Island Tour boats visit the shipwrecks before docking at Flowerpot Island. Flowerpot Island cruises last an hour and twenty minutes and passengers may disembark to return on the boat later. A visiting fee is charged by Parks Canada. Flowerpot Island has two rock pillars on its east side that were created by wave and ice erosion. These sea stacks look like huge flowerpots; hence the name. Flat limestone shelves at water
Grey Roots Museum & Archives is located on Grey Road 18, the city bypass west of Rockford. The impressive complex hosts exhibits, a theatre, café, museum store, archives and educational programs. Moreston Village is open daily during summer. See costumed interpreters perform pioneering life skills that would daunt the most accomplished multi-tasker! Buildings include 1800s log homes, a blacksmith shop, schoolhouse, 1900s automotive garage and bandstand. Special traveling exhibits change each season and children's programs augment the interest for young people. This summer's special
The Chatham-Kent Museum is the vibrant community promoter of historical Chatham-Kent that inspires a love of learning! For over 70 years we have been collecting and preserving the material heritage, and the stories associated with it, significant to the citizens of Chatham-Kent and using this material to educate and engage citizens in a stimulating environment. Highlights in the collection include a nationally designated Gray-Dort automobile, several locally-made horse drawn vehicles, and Emma Milner’s award winning art. The Milner Heritage House, which is seasonally operated, takes
Forest Lambton Museum exhibits beautiful family heirlooms. Signature exhibits include antique telephones, clocks and cameras. It opens Wed.-Sun., 1-4 p.m. at 8 Main St. North in Forest.
Centennial Museum of Sheguiandah is located on Hwy 6 where it showcases splendid pioneer heirloom artifacts and historical photographs. It also hosts alternating art exhibitions and summer children’s art programs. The exhibit has a large variety of antique farm machinery and vehicles. An impressive collection of fossils and prehistoric stone tools were excavated from a 9,500 year-old archaeological site just north of the village where prehistoric inhabitants gathered a particular type of rock that was used for making cutting tools. A noteworthy relic of American President
Moore Museum preserves the history of life in Moore Township on the St. Clair River. The 12-building historic village engages you in discovering the life and work of past generations. Your heritage journey features a one-room schoolhouse, log cabin, Victorian cottage, historic church and more. Popular displays include the early 20th century general store and Lionel model train exhibit room. Self-guiding tour booklets for both adults and children and hands-on activity centres involve all ages in exploring the past. Ramp access and paved walkways make the site accessible and a picnic area
The Wallaceburg & District Museum is a non-profit organization that is dedicated to preserving and displaying the cultural property of Wallaceburg and the surrounding area. There is a rich heritage to be discovered here at the museum, from one of the biggest unsolved mysteries in Canada to the Lee Enfield Rifle Prototype that was first test fired in Wallaceburg, there is a lot to see and learn! For instance, the Town of Wallaceburg purchased our building from Wallaceburg Hydro for $1.00 in 1983. The vacant Hydro Office at 505 King Street was turned over to the Historical Society by Mayor
The Old Mill Heritage Centre building was originally a pulp mill built in 1925. The pulp was shipped by freighter to the United States to be processed into paper for Sears Roebuck catalogues. Later the mill was transformed into a hydroelectric generating station that supplied the island with power. The building now houses multi-media museum exhibits and the Old Mill Studios that do audio and video productions for families and organizations. Call 705-282-1442 for information. The Heritage Centre features evocative exhibits with an abundance of artifacts that reflect the history of Billings
The Huron County Museum is a first-class community museum offering visitors modern exhibition galleries. Temporary exhibits cover a wide spectrum of subjects of special interest. Permanent exhibits depict the early settlement and development of Huron County. The History Hall, with store fronts and a locomotive, allows you to stroll back in time. An extensive Military Gallery, Furniture Gallery and Agricultural Displays interest and fascinate the visitor. The Huron Historic Gaol is a unique and imposing octagonal building which served as the County Jail from its opening in 1841
The Municipality of Killarney stretches from Baie Fine and Frazer Bay in the west to the French, Pickerel and Key Rivers in the east. Its boundaries are included within the districts of Manitoulin, Sudbury and Parry Sound and its 1,578 square kilometres encompass a large area of natural forests, wetlands, mountains, lakes, bays and rivers. For those who love the rugged wilderness, sport fishing, camping, kayaking and other outdoor activities, the place to be is anywhere in the Municipality of Killarney. The Township of Rutherford and George Island was incorporated in 1929.
“Come touch history” in downtown Mindemoya. The Central Manitoulin Historical Society - Pioneer Museum was created to preserve the contributions made by the early settlers of Campbell, Carnarvon and Sandfield Townships. The Museum has over 5,000 artifacts, most of them donated by local families to preserve their heritage. Collections reflect area history with emphasis on pioneer life, farming, fishing and lumbering. Special displays are featured in the adjacent Welcome Centre. Visit the covered bridge to see the family tree posters of some of our first settlers in Central
Martyrs' Shrine is a testimonial to North America's first canonized saints. The church is truly inspiring with its beautiful, Gothic-revival architecture and gardens. The site commands a panoramic view of Midland Bay from its picnic area. A museum contains sacred artifacts and the shrine welcomes ethnic pilgrimages each year. An education and conference centre can accommodate group retreats. Located on Hwy 12 East, the site opens daily, early May to late October.
The Tom Thomson Art Gallery is dedicated to the innovation and spirit of the iconic artist Tom Thomson (1877-1917), whose images are virtually synonymous with the very idea of ‘Canada’ and whose artwork has been described as being the “visual equivalent of our national anthem.” Thomson, who grew up in the Owen Sound area, was a maverick, a break-away artist who fused a passion for the wilderness with a new style of skilful and experimental painting; he inspired the formation of the Group of Seven through his transformative portrayal of the natural world.Our ongoing
The Meaford Museum displays marine and farm artifacts, toys, traveling exhibits and archives of famous conservationist, John Muir who worked at a local sawmill. See Andrew Gawley's ingenious invention of his iron hands and the story of Beautiful Joe, a local dog made famous by a best selling Canadian book that raised international consciousness against inhumane treatment of animals. Ship models meticulously crafted by Meaford's own ship captain Bruce Shepperd, are on display. Meaford's apple industry is detailed by the Apple pie Trail exhibit. The collection also includes a speaker's chair
“With deep roots, the sky is our only limit” Explore the villages of Providence Bay, Mindemoya, Spring Bay, Sandfield and Big Lake, home to beautiful beaches and lakes. Tourist services include accommodations, restaurants, LCBO, pharmacy and grocery store. High speed internet and cellular service is available in most areas. Boat launches are located at: 570 Dial Road at Windfall Lake, 25 Hutchinson Road at Manitou Lake, northwest end of Big Lake, Perivale Road West at Kagawong Lake, and Ketchankookum Trail at Mindemoya Lake. A marina is located at Providence Bay. Providence Bay
“With deep roots, the sky is our only limit” Explore the villages of Providence Bay, Mindemoya, Spring Bay, Sandfield and Big Lake, home to beautiful beaches and lakes. Tourist services include accommodations, restaurants, LCBO, pharmacy and grocery store. High speed internet and cellular service is available in most areas. Boat launches are located at: 570 Dial Road at Windfall Lake, 25 Hutchinson Road at Manitou Lake, northwest end of Big Lake, Perivale Road West at Kagawong Lake, and Ketchankookum Trail at Mindemoya Lake. A marina is located at Providence Bay. In the village
Jack Miner became the founder of the migratory waterfowl refuge system by creating the Jack Miner Migratory Bird Sanctuary in 1904. Five years later he pioneered the banding of migrating waterfowl; the recovery data was instrumental in the establishment of the Migratory Bird Treaty of 1916 between the USA and Canada as no government banding programs had been in existence at that time. The Jack Miner Migratory Bird Foundation was established in 1931 in the United States and in 1936 in Canada to continue the good work of Jack Miner. The Foundation is a charitable organization that operates
Huronia Museum invites visitors to explore its fascinating exhibits that portray the art, culture and history of the Huronia-Southeastern Georgian Bay region. The gallery displays photographs and paintings from the archives plus seasonal exhibitions and a film series. A tour of the Huron-Ouendat Village takes visitors into the palisade entrance and interior of the dwelling. Step into the past as you experience the culture of the Huron First Nation through games, drumming, chants, wood smoke, food preparation and longhouses lined with animal skins.
The Museum building holds collections regarding the United Empire Loyalists and artifacts and information on the People of Essex County and their involvement in the defense of their country in the Fenian Raids, Boer War, World War 1, World War 2, Korea, Cold War, Peacekeeping, Bosnia, Afghanistan and much more. Two new displays featuring police uniforms from three different groups: the OPP, RCMP, and the Kingsville Police Force and a display of municipal flags from Gosfield North, Gosfield South, and Kingsville from pre-amalgamation until present are available. A recent article in the
Visitors can explore the world-renowned village of Sainte-Marie among the Hurons in Midland, an authentically re-created 17th century fort and site of the early Jesuit missions to the Huron. Costumed interpreters add realistic perspective to the palisade community, while an audio-visual presentation and museum provide historical background. Sainte-Marie is located on Hwy 12 East and opens May to Thanksgiving daily 10 a.m.- 5 p.m. Sainte-Marie Park, a spacious picnic area beside the Wye River, is located opposite the enclave on Wye Valley Road and links the site with the Tay Waterfront Trail
Built in 1875, the Ridge House Museum is housed in a typical Gothic revival style home with period furnishings to portray the values and lifestyles of a middle class family. The Ridge House structure and grounds have been restored and are maintained to their Victorian roots. In celebration of the museum’s 40th anniversary, the Ridge House Museum Advisory Committee is hosting a Strawberry Social on June 12. On July 9, 2016 historic characters from Ridgetown and Howard Township’s past come alive in the Ridge House Museum’s event Tales from Greenwood. The
Amherstburg Freedom Museum, located at 277 King St., is part of the African Canadian Heritage Tour. This national historic site features a log cabin and original church built by former slaves. Exhibits focus on accomplishments of black people and the famous Underground Railroad movement that helped them escape to freedom and to establish settlements in Canada. The museum maintains fascinating archives, a gift shop as well as seasonal events that celebrate Black Canadian culture and its ties to the United States.
The Harbour Centre, at 40 Water Street, holds shops, tourist information and the William Purvis Marine Museum, an eclectic display of nautical artifacts, marine charts and exquisite ship models. It illustrates a time when ship transport was the only economical method of reaching Manitoulin and this created a rich tradition of marine culture on the island.
Point Clark Lighthouse is a stunning national historic site that has been beautifully restored in keeping with its heritage architecture that was constructed 1855 to 1859 to warn sailors of a dangerous shoal 3 km offshore. The tower's elegant design and limestone walls are typical of only six "Imperial" style lighthouses found along the Great Lakes. It still serves as a navigational beacon that is automated, but the history of its lightkeepers is displayed inside the museum. Visitors can climb numerous flights of stairs to see the spectacular view from the light cupola. Guided tours explain
Dynamic Earth inspires people of all ages to engage with the science in the world around them. The science centre's fun and friendly approach to science education is led by Bluecoats - real scientists and science communicators who make interacting with the exhibits even more informative and fun. NEW! Dynamic Earth Outdoor Science Park A new outdoor science park and exploration trail system features earth science and mining themed exhibits. Large-scale exhibits include a crawl-through cave, musical instruments made of natural materials, and real mining equipment with interactive
The naval base at Discovery Harbour brings to life the era when the British navy ruled the waves. Visitors may stroll waterside boardwalks and chat with costumed officers and crew aboard a replica schooner and explore the military barracks to see what a sailor’s life was like on the frontier. Ship sawyers, carpenters and blacksmiths reenact the tradesmen who kept the fleet afloat. The historic site also contains the King's Wharf Theatre, which is operated by Drayton Entertainment Company that brings professional theatre shows to the location during summer.
The North Huron Museum holds archives for the Township of North Huron as well as exhibits and art shows that highlight local heritage, especially its prominence as a radio and television broadcasting centre. The museum opens May to August. The adjoining Alice Munro Literary Garden pays tribute to its famous, local author who recently won the Nobel Prize for Literature. The Alice Munro Writers and Readers Festival celebrates Munro’s accomplishments and encourages the development of literature through a number of social events and workshops for all ages at the end of September.The Barn
The Pelee Island Heritage Centre aspires to research, collect and preserve the evidence of the Island’s (and neighbours’) human history, to protect the community’s natural heritage, and to educate the public through exhibits, publications, special presentations and its extended stay education program. The Heritage Centre contains fascinating displays of island artifacts that depict the geography, nature and history of Pelee Island. Exhibits include fossils, wildlife and wonderful photographs of pioneering times. The centre also hosts daily video presentations and a Kite
The museum is the former St. Edmunds Settlement School, which was opened in May 1967. The building, which dates back to 1898, houses land deeds and registers, together with many historical photographs and artifacts pertaining to the area. The ground floor has displays showing lumbering, fishing and hunting cultures that were the mainstay of the local economy for decades. The upper floor is dedicated to marine history, displaying maps, descriptions of old boats and relics from shipwrecks. The exhibits provide an insight into the shipping industry at that time, with many examples of tools and
The S.S. Keewatin Steamship Museum, docked at 311 Talbot St. in Port McNicoll, was the last passenger steamer to ply the Great Lakes. The ship's elegant Edwardian decor includes mahogany paneling, polished brass, silver dinnerware and Italian hand-etched skylights.Its decks, cabins, lounges and dining room are furnished with accoutrements and costumes in various styles of the historical periods it spanned. Knowledgeable guides relate background stories to visitors about a bygone era of travel that was luxurious even by today's standards.
Originally built as a jail in 1878, the Assiginack Museum has been operating since 1955 and houses a large collection of artifacts that tell the area's history. Both the 1836 and 1862 Manitoulin Treaties were signed in Manitowaning, and in the 1880s Manitowaning was a bustling port and commercial centre. Our exhibits include local history, pioneer life, native art, an outstanding glassware collection, and much more. The Museum grounds are also home to several transplanted historic buildings, including an 1878 log schoolhouse, a pioneer home, a blacksmith shop, a driving shed, and the
The Canadian Transportation Museum and Heritage Village is located in a 100-acre park of enormous oak trees on County Rd 23 west of Kingsville. Take a step back in time to the original Jack Miner Homestead and other restored buildings. The Transportation Museum is the largest of classic and historic vehicles in Ontario, containing over 60 vehicles ranging from the 1893 Shamrock to Canada’s first Dodge Viper and cars from every decade. The building also holds Canada’s first EMS Museum of ambulances and a Wood Carving Museum. Visitors may enjoy the 50’s retro-style diner or
Exciting exhibits and art shows can be discovered at Penetanguishene Centennial Museum & Archives, located at 13 Burke Street. Explore the incredible collection of artifacts and rare historical photographs. The museum boasts a replica Fire Hall, 1875 general store, 1903 Oldsmobile, and an 1879 Baldwin Steam Engine – one of the oldest in North America. Popular events include Kids’ Day Camps and Scavenger Hunts in summer.
Visitors to Fort Malden can step back in time and get a glimpse of what military life was like in a British Empire outpost almost 200 years ago. The fort played an important role in both the War of 1812 and the Rebellion of 1837. The site, located along the Detroit River, includes original earthworks, restored barracks, cannons, an orientation centre and an interactive museum. Fortifications at Fort Malden have witnessed and participated in the struggles that helped forge a new nation out of the North American wilderness. The fort has been an army garrison, British Indian Department post,
Jack Seabrook’s Farm Museum is Manitoulin’s biggest collection of antique vehicles and machinery, located on Hwy 542 East. Many of its visitors revel in nostalgic memories and say the museum is the finest on the island. One building contains a full line of Massey tractors and a La France fire engine stands outside. Over 50 vintage tractors gleam with their original colours. All of the machines are safely displayed and meticulously labeled indoors along with a 1927 Chevrolet, 1916 Model T Ford, a shiny red Diamond-T pickup truck and hundreds of smaller implements and tools. A
The Collingwood Museum and tourist information are housed in the Station Welcome Centre at St. Paul & Huron Streets. The building is an impressive reincarnation of the original 1873 railway terminal. The museum displays genuine aboriginal artifacts and exhibits of Collingwood's shipbuilding days, including a video of the port's last side launch.
The Municipality of Meaford Memorial Park is one of Ontario’s few waterfront campgrounds. This picturesque park boasts 400 metres of shoreline, a picnic area, playground equipment and a snack bar. Visitors can enjoy a miniature golf course and woodland trails. All of the trailer sites are either on Georgian Bay or a very short walk from Memorial Park’s very own beach. The campground has running water, showers, toilets and full service hookups. There are 135 sites serviced with hydro and water of which 63 sites have sewer, hydro and water. Open for camping from May 1- October 20
The Community Waterfront Heritage Centre is located at the harbour in Owen Sound's former 1930's CN Railway Station. The museum displays all sorts of historical artifacts relating to the marine and railway industries that helped to shape the city as a major Great Lakes port. Exquisite models of ships adorn the exhibits and a full size railway dining car awaits inspection by visitors. From mid-June to mid-August, the site hosts Harbour Nights Sunday Concerts with a variety of live entertainment in summer. The famous Ancaster Tug is displayed beside the building and visitors can tour the
The Lambton Heritage Museum, on Hwy. 21 south of Grand Bend, is home to an outstanding collection of distinctive, one-of-a-kind items, each having its own story to pass on to future generations. Here you will discover the only remaining horse-drawn ambulance in Ontario, the largest collection of pressed glass water pitchers in Canada, a church built in 1867, rare John Goodison steam engines, an exceptional collection of stoves made by the Doherty Stove Co. and a notable collection of furniture from 19th century Lambton County.Since opening in 1978, the Lambton Heritage Museum has been
Wasaga Beach Provincial Park is unique since it is located within the boundaries of the town as a day-use park. Its parabolic dune system is the largest in Ontario. Rare plants and animals such as the Piping Plover and Eastern Hognose Snake find refuge in the park. The beach areas are numbered starting at the east end by the river mouth. Area 1 includes boat launching, fishing platforms, special events court and beach boardwalk. New Wasaga Beach and Allenwood Beach, on River Road East, are favourite spots for windsurfing and kite boarding. Area 6 has an information centre, band gazebo, soccer
Rock Glen Conservation Area is located two kilometres northeast of Arkona, Ontario, Canada at 8680 Rock Glen Road. Phone gatehouse at 519-828-3071 or phone Ausable Bayfield Conservation office toll-free at 1-888-286-2610 for information. The admission fee (subject to change) is only $4.00 per person or $3.50 per walk-in. That includes admission to Arkona Lions Museum and Information Centre. Two picnic pavilions can be reserved for groups. More and more brides and grooms are being married at Rock Glen Conservation Area. Driving Directions: From Sarnia or
The Park House is a year round museum catering to the needs of visiting school children, seniors and the general public. It brings the story of Amherstburg and its people to life through programs and exhibits that are created to engage and inspire all who visit. Historically, the Park House is an early example of Pièce sur Pièce log construction and is said to have been built in the 1790s at the mouth of the Rouge River in Detroit. When Detroit was ceded to the United States, the owners decided to dismantle the building and float it down the Detroit River to Amherstburg.The
Culture & Entertainment