Select your Service, County Or Town and Press SEARCH
Ontario's Bluewater regions are full of historic sites, heritage architecture, lighthouses, monuments and significant natural landmarks. Some are world famous and others are lesser known, but equally rewarding to explore.
Birdie's Perch Bustaurant is one of Leamngton's and Essex County's favourite roadside attractions.Located near Point Pelee National Park, the converted 1965 Bristol Lodekka British Double Decker Bus features fresh Lake Erie perch and hand cut fries. Our Point Philly Cheese Steak sandwich, gourmet hot dogs and vegetarian wraps ensure there is something to please every palette.We serve Kawartha Dairy scooped ice cream as well as soft serve twists.Birdie's Perch offers a variety of seating choices for guests. Relax on our outdoor patio, bus-top diner, or our picnic area nestled amidst Carolinian
The story of ‘Anne of Green Gables’ comes alive at Bala’s Museum, with costumes for boys and girls and photo ops from scenes out of ‘Anne’. Photograph the famous Anne & Diana Tea Party; Anne saving Minnie May’s life and Anne thwacking Gilbert with her slate. Marvel at the world’s largest replica Green Gables dollhouse. Shop in Canada’s best Anne of Green Gables Gift Shop & Bookstore. The museum itself is the former Tourist Home where ‘Anne’ author, Lucy Maud Montgomery and her family ate meals daily for 2 weeks in the summer
September 8-11, 2016 (Show dates: September 9-11) at Blyth Campgrounds and Community Centre Featured Antique Tractor: International Featured Antique Car: Ford Model T Featured Lawn & Garden Equipment: International Gas Engines Working display demonstrations Sawmill Threshing Machines Horse Demonstrations Corn Roast each night Lots to do for the whole family, Kiddie tractor pulls, Pedal tractor pulls Indoor and outdoor vendors & Flea Market Log Cabin with Quilting Demonstrations Thursday morning: Tractor Drive to Breakfast Thursday afternoon:
The Canadian Transportation Museum and Heritage Village is located in a 100-acre park of enormous oak trees on County Rd 23 west of Kingsville. Take a step back in time to the original Jack Miner Homestead and other restored buildings. The Transportation Museum is the largest of classic and historic vehicles in Ontario, containing over 60 vehicles ranging from the 1893 Shamrock to Canada’s first Dodge Viper and cars from every decade. The building also holds Canada’s first EMS Museum of ambulances and a Wood Carving Museum. Visitors may enjoy the 50’s retro-style diner or
The naval base at Discovery Harbour brings to life the era when the British navy ruled the waves. Visitors may stroll waterside boardwalks and chat with costumed officers and crew aboard a replica schooner and explore the military barracks to see what a sailor’s life was like on the frontier. Ship sawyers, carpenters and blacksmiths reenact the tradesmen who kept the fleet afloat. The historic site also contains the King's Wharf Theatre, which is operated by Drayton Entertainment Company that brings professional theatre shows to the location during summer.
The 14-km Trout Hollow Trail forms a loop along both banks of the Bighead River Conservation Area. The trail is marked with yellow blazes and follows the valley through open meadows, thick forests and some steep ridges that make for challenging hiking. Many high lookouts afford spectacular views of the river's braided channels and rapids. The Bighead River is well known for its sustenance of Rainbow trout, and good fishing holes can be found along its course. The trail also encounters several historic ruins of a sawmill, electric power station, grist mill and water flume. John Muir, the
The one and only CPR Swing Bridge in Little Current is the only land link to Manitoulin Island, which was originally built to handle railway traffic in 1914. Its unique design allows it to swing open every hour on the hour, stopping highway traffic to allow tall boats to pass through the channel. The power line towers that span the channel are also the tallest in Ontario. The Manitoulin Tourism Information Centre has both boat dockage and parking to allow visitors a good look at the bridge from the Waterfront Trail. Nearby Turner Park, located at Walcot Street and Campbell Street junction,
Torrance Barrens nature reserve, located on Southwood Road 13 south of Torrance, has trails over intriguing alvars where Ontario’s only lizard, the Five-lined Skink can be found as well as other rare reptiles such as the Massasauga Rattlesnake and Spotted Turtle. These beautiful animals are protected by law and may NEVER be removed from their natural environment, which is the only place where they can truly flourish. The Barrens is also a Dark Sky Reserve where stargazing is simply amazing! The trails can be bicycled or hiked over terrain that varies from open rock alvars to forests
The ‘Northern Lights Folk Festival’ was first held in Bell Park in 1972. It was a free one-day music festival on one stage; needless to say it has grown exponentially since. It remains Canada’s longest continually running outdoor music festival, holding its 45th edition in 2016. Taking place on the picturesque shores of Lake Ramsey in Bell Park in the heart of Sudbury, NLFB has presented a multitude of acclaimed artists in the past including: Serena Ryder, Stan Rogers, Broken Social Scene, Buffy Ste. Marie, Colin James, Joel Plaskett, Leahy, Hawksley Workman, Daniel Lanois,
Famous Christ Church Anglican preserves memorial stained glass windows salvaged from bombed out churches in Europe. Six windows contain remnants of glass from 120 churches across England, France, Belgium and Holland. The windows were assembled and dedicated to the sacrifices made by Canadian soldiers during World War II by army chaplain Rev. Harold Appleyard. The church opens for tours at 34 Boucher St. E., Wed.- Fri. 9 a.m.- 12 p.m. and guided tours are available by calling Sharleen Schefter at 519-538-3365.
The Wallaceburg & District Museum is a non-profit organization that is dedicated to preserving and displaying the cultural property of Wallaceburg and the surrounding area. There is a rich heritage to be discovered here at the museum, from one of the biggest unsolved mysteries in Canada to the Lee Enfield Rifle Prototype that was first test fired in Wallaceburg, there is a lot to see and learn! For instance, the Town of Wallaceburg purchased our building from Wallaceburg Hydro for $1.00 in 1983. The vacant Hydro Office at 505 King Street was turned over to the Historical Society by Mayor
Bell Park has a variety of attractions surrounding its picnic areas and lovely flower gardens on the shore of Ramsey Lake off Paris and York Streets. Canoe and kayak rentals are available for excursions on the lake. The Bell Park boardwalk joins the Jim Gordon Walkway that links Science North with Bell Park beach. The Sudbury Mining Heritage Sculpture is a spectacular, 5-metre high bronze casting of hands reaching into the earth. It stands on an outcrop in Bell Park as a tribute to the people who forged the community. The Grace Harman Amphitheatre hosts live entertainment during summer. Lily
All aboard the Island Queen for a relaxing cruise through Georgian Bay’s 30,000 Islands, the largest concentration of fresh-water islands in the world! Passengers can choose between two cruises, our Original Two-Hour Morning Cruise, offered daily in July and August, or our Flagship Three-Hour Afternoon Cruise, offered daily from June 1 to Thanksgiving Monday each season. Our two-hour morning cruise follows a meandering route past charming summer retreats that draw so many generations of families back to the inner islands of Georgian Bay. The windswept islands that give shape to the
Lions Harbour Park maintains gorgeous flowerbeds and landscaping in "Canada's Prettiest Town". The park contains washrooms, a picnic pavilion, playground and a bandshell that hosts band concerts every Sunday evening at 7 pm during summer. The Celtic Roots Festival also runs at the park on the first weekend in August. The view overlooking the harbour is spectacular and visitors can see several storm stripped tree sculptures and a metal sculpture memorial to the Goderich tornado disaster.
The Port of Goderich, known since Victorian times as the “Prettiest Town in Canada”, is a complete community that offers something for everyone. Goderich’s downtown core, known universally as “The Square” is home to over 140 shops, restaurants, and other businesses that cater to every taste imaginable. In summer months, the downtown is home to Goderich’s well-known Farmer’s and Flea Markets, selling Ontario grown fruits and vegetables, honey, maple syrup, plants and flowers, some pork products and fish, homemade baked goods, homemade preserves
Bayfield Inlet, on Hwy 529-A, has boat access to the colourfully veined and polished Painted Rocks along the north shore of Charles Inlet where hikers can explore fantastic alvars for kilometres. The Georgian Bay archipelago contains idyllic swimming, picnic spots, fabulous fishing, camping and cottage resorts. The 30,000 Islands are truly spectacular as the world’s most extensive lake based island chain. Its glacier-scoured, granite islands dotted by windswept pines, contain some of Canada’s most incredible scenery.
On the west shore of the peninsula, the Singing Sands Beach at Dorcas Bay has extensive sand flats, wooded dunes and a picnic area. The gradient of the beach is so shallow that bathers can walk out for hundreds of metres. It is one of the best places in Ontario to see rare flowers such as the rare Ram's Head orchid and Showy Lady's Slipper; 44 species of orchids grow on the peninsula. Other unusual plants that grow in the wet fens are Indian Paintbrush and the insect eating Pitcher Plant, which derives much of its nutrients by digesting insects that fall into its jug like appendage. These
Killarney Provincial Park, the jewel of Ontario's wilderness parks, is accessible via Highway 637, Highway 6 at Charlton Lake near Willisville or Lake Panache via Road 10. The stunning La Cloche Mountains contain lakes that are famous for their azure colour and clarity. Some are so lucid that their bottoms can be seen many fathoms below. Hiking trails provide access to interior lakes and ethereal, quartz ridges with panoramic vistas from the Silhouette Trail and Silver Peak, the highest point in the park. Backcountry campsites are limited and must be reserved in advance. Paddlers entering the
Built in 1875, the Ridge House Museum is housed in a typical Gothic revival style home with period furnishings to portray the values and lifestyles of a middle class family. The Ridge House structure and grounds have been restored and are maintained to their Victorian roots. In celebration of the museum’s 40th anniversary, the Ridge House Museum Advisory Committee is hosting a Strawberry Social on June 12. On July 9, 2016 historic characters from Ridgetown and Howard Township’s past come alive in the Ridge House Museum’s event Tales from Greenwood. The
Misery Bay Provincial Nature Reserve is located south of Elizabeth Bay. It harbours rare plants and animals such as the Lakeside Daisy, Pitcher's Thistle and Blandings Turtle among its fens, dunes and limestone alvars. The fissured, flat pavements are easily accessible for wheelchairs in many places and they create a surreal landscape as they gradually slope into the shoreline. Misery Bay has a wide, shallow beach that sweeps around the bay, offering excellent wading areas. The park has several trails and an interpretive centre. It is one of the island’s best bird watching spots.
You’ll Be Surprised! Petrolia, in the 19th century was the birthplace of the world’s oil refining industry and the richest town in Canada. Remnants of the oil boom glory days are still visible in town. The downtown is attractively styled in keeping with its heritage of manicured parks, flowerbeds, well-tended properties and library. Mansions complete with elegant woodwork, ostentatious towers and stained glass windows can be seen as outlined in a heritage walking tour brochure of Petrolia. Boutiques, restaurants, bed and breakfast homes, golf and live theatre entertain visitors.
Crevice caves are located in the Duncan Escarpment Provincial Nature Reserve located just east of Duncan along The Blue Mountains Euphrasia Townline. Massive chunks of limestone have split and broken off the escarpment to create a labyrinth of tunnels, narrow corridors and grottos along the cliffs. Networks of cedar roots splay across the rocks like tentacles groping for cracks to anchor into and the rocks harbour many unusual species of ferns and lichens. The Bruce Trail runs through the area, providing rugged and scenic trekking for hikers and skiers.
Lady luck reigns at OLG Slots at Clinton Raceway, located at the Clinton fairgrounds. The half-mile, professional track holds free harness horse racing Sundays at 1:30 p.m., May thru September. From fall to spring the facility offers off-track betting every night plus entertainment Fri.-Sun. afternoons. The adjacent playground, park, pool and picnic area make the complex very family-friendly. See large murals depicting the history of horse racing in Clinton. The tropically themed Raceway Slots opens daily.
The Gore Bay & Western Manitoulin Museum is located at the end of Dawson Street at the top of the hill next to the courthouse where it once served as the jail and jailer's residence. An 1890 jail cell is still intact, complete with inscribed prisoners’ graffiti. The building has unusual artifacts and photographs of the town's early settlers. The museum contains marine relics from the days when Gore Bay was a shipping port and a collection of military artifacts from both World Wars. Visitors can see extraordinary mounted birds and fossils that are all indigenous to the island. A
Nestled within Discovery Harbour in Penetanguishene on Georgian Bay, the King's Wharf Theatre is a pleasantly rustic, 385-seat venue that offers all the comforts of a modern facility. Flanked by the historic buildings of a 19th-century British naval and military base, the theatre is located at the end of a beautiful boardwalk that looks onto the home port of replica sailing ships H.M.S. Bee and H.M.S. Tecumseth. The site is a perfect location for picnics as well as stepping back in time to see what a sailor's life was like in the 1800's. A visit to the King's Wharf Theatre takes only 45
Spirit Rock & McNeill Estate Conservation Area is located just off Highway 6 north of Wiarton. A picnic area contains the quarried stone ruins of the Corran, an historic mansion that belonged to Alexander McNeill, a prominent citizen and Member of Parliament. In 1882 the McNeill family began construction of the estate, which boasted stables, orchards, fine art, elegant stained glass, the largest private library north of Toronto and manicured gardens that contained 500 varieties of roses. The site is a lovely picnic area that displays historical plaques about its hidden secrets. The
The Municipality of Killarney stretches from Baie Fine and Frazer Bay in the west to the French, Pickerel and Key Rivers in the east. Its boundaries are included within the districts of Manitoulin, Sudbury and Parry Sound and its 1,578 square kilometres encompass a large area of natural forests, wetlands, mountains, lakes, bays and rivers. For those who love the rugged wilderness, sport fishing, camping, kayaking and other outdoor activities, the place to be is anywhere in the Municipality of Killarney. The Township of Rutherford and George Island was incorporated in 1929.
Nestled in rural Lambton County you will find the Oil Museum of Canada at the southern outskirts of the Village of Oil Springs. This National Historic Site provides an opportunity to learn about a fascinating era in Canada's history and the birthplace of the modern oil industry. Uncover the birth and growth stories of this new industry at the time, as well as social life in the early oil boom town of Oil Springs and the industry's evolvement when and after activity moved eight miles north to Petrolia. Imagine the strange sights, sounds and stories. History happened here in the Oil
The Historic Downtown Chatham Business BIA is planning its 17th annual RetroFest™ to be held May 26 and 27, 2017.Friday Night is the OLG Classic Car Cruise heading out from the CK John D Bradley Convention Centre at 6 p.m. and cruising to King Street while activities in the Tecumseh Park will include a beverage garden and musical entertainment sponsored by Big Brothers Big Sisters. On Saturday activities move to Tecumseh Park and downtown King Street and side streets for the Kent Historic Auto Club’s Classic Car Show. All cars must register. Pre-registration is requested
The Providence Bay Agricultural Society hosts the annual Providence Bay Agricultural Fair in Providence Bay on the South Shore of Manitoulin Island. This annual event has been a staple in the island culture for over 130 years. Guests from all over flock to this small community the third weekend in August every year to be entertained by local and provincial vendors and entertainers. Events run rain or shine all weekend long. The annual Ambassador competition kicks off the weekend on Friday evening starting at 7:30. The parade running from the beach to the fair grounds starts at
Bass Lake Creek creates a pretty cascade past a replica of the historic, water-powered Batman’s Sawmill. A viewing platform is located beside a fish ladder where jumping fish can be observed during spring or fall spawning runs. A picturesque boardwalk links this park with the village along Mill Street. Docks, launch ramps, toilets and a picnic area provide parking and access to the lake at the end of Dunlop Street.
The Miss Midland & the Serendipity Princess - Georgian Bay/Muskoka Take a morning or afternoon sightseeing cruise and experience the sparkling water, windswept pines and rocky grandeur of Muskoka/Georgian Bay’s 30,000 islands – the finest cruising area in the northern hemisphere. You may wish to enjoy a lovely cruise before dinner, or for the perfect ending to a carefree summer day, we offer memorable Sunset Cruises among the beautiful islands of Muskoka/Georgian Bay where you can dance or sing along with the evening’s entertainment or simply relax and enjoy our
Amherstburg Freedom Museum, located at 277 King St., is part of the African Canadian Heritage Tour. This national historic site features a log cabin and original church built by former slaves. Exhibits focus on accomplishments of black people and the famous Underground Railroad movement that helped them escape to freedom and to establish settlements in Canada. The museum maintains fascinating archives, a gift shop as well as seasonal events that celebrate Black Canadian culture and its ties to the United States.
Hike, bike or ski the Saugeen Rail Trail, a scenic recreational trail free of motorized traffic, located on a former railroad corridor that runs inland between Port Elgin and Southampton. Facilities include washrooms and a historical display of the former Port Elgin railway station where the trail crosses Elgin Street. The trail continues south of Port Elgin onto the Bruce County Rail Trail. It ends in Southampton at the corner of Peel Street and Laird Lane.
The 1885 Big Tub lighthouse marks the entrance of the harbour; picnic areas and dive sites are located there and on the east side of Little Tub Harbour. From the last Friday in June to Labour Day, diving in Big Tub harbour is allowed only 4-10:30 p.m. plus Sundays 9 a.m.- noon because of boat traffic. The Park Visitor Centre, located at 120 Chi sin tib dek Road, has displays of the park’s marine heritage attractions. A three-dimensional map of the lakebed reveals hidden features. Divers must register before diving. Glass bottom boats operate tours to Flowerpot Island and to view the
“Come Fish the “Chantry” “Lake Huron’s Largest Fishing Derby” The Chantry Chinook Classic Salmon Derby is held during the peak of summer, from July 27th to August 11th inclusive in 2019. The Derby has become Lake Huron’s largest open water fishing derby, drawing over 40% of its participants to the area from a distance of greater than 80 kilometers. The tournament draws anglers and their families to the area for fishing and fun in the sun. Whether angling the crystal clear waters of Lake Huron and Georgian Bay, relaxing on the sandy
Exciting exhibits and art shows can be discovered at Penetanguishene Centennial Museum & Archives, located at 13 Burke Street. Explore the incredible collection of artifacts and rare historical photographs. The museum boasts a replica Fire Hall, 1875 general store, 1903 Oldsmobile, and an 1879 Baldwin Steam Engine – one of the oldest in North America. Popular events include Kids’ Day Camps and Scavenger Hunts in summer.
Originally built as a jail in 1878, the Assiginack Museum has been operating since 1955 and houses a large collection of artifacts that tell the area's history. Both the 1836 and 1862 Manitoulin Treaties were signed in Manitowaning, and in the 1880s Manitowaning was a bustling port and commercial centre. Our exhibits include local history, pioneer life, native art, an outstanding glassware collection, and much more. The Museum grounds are also home to several transplanted historic buildings, including an 1878 log schoolhouse, a pioneer home, a blacksmith shop, a driving shed, and the
Bruce Anchor Cruises is located in Tobermory, Ontario, Canada. We operate within Fathom Five National Marine Park which occupies some of the most pristine waters in the Great Lakes. Fathom Five is home to numerous historic light stations, over twenty known shipwrecks and the famous Flowerpot Island. Our novel designed, glass bottom vessels depart Tobermory on an adventure through Fathom Five every 20-40 minutes during the summer months! Within 5 minutes of departing our dock we view two 19th century shipwrecks resting just a few feet below the surface. From there we pass by Big Tub Light
The Goderich-Auburn Rail Trail (GART) follows a remnant of the 1907-1989 CP Railway bed that provides a packed pathway for cycling, hiking and skiing and horseback riding as far as the Maitland River and continues on the east bank to Auburn; snowmobiling is allowed on the east section of the trail only. The trail passes through thick forest, wildflower meadows, ponds and fields for unparalleled views of wildlife and the countryside. Near its beginning at Lake Huron, the trail passes a side trail to a massive, 200 year-old oak tree and the Meneset Arboretum at kilometre 2.75 where native trees
The Marine Museum is located at the Goderich harbour in the wheelhouse of the “S.S. Shelter Bay”. It contains nautical artifacts, intriguing photographs, paintings and various ship models. The Marine Heritage Walkway features signs that describe hidden points of interest and history about the town’s waterfront along the beach paths, harbours and bluff lookouts. The Sifto salt mine operates a veritable underground city of roadways and chambers that extend more than 3 km beneath Lake Huron, 540 metres below the surface. The mine can produce close to 9 million tonnes of salt
Southampton's nautical heritage can be explored by the range beacons at the river mouth. Pioneer Park, adjacent to the harbour, is a great place to have a picnic and to watch fishing boats return to port. The harbour is also a great spot to cast a line and catch fish! Replica nautical storm signals are displayed in the park alongside two bronze cannons.
Highway 559 leads to Snug Harbour or Dillon, which are good launch locations for boating around Franklin Island. The island has starkly sculpted, multi-coloured rock and convoluted shorelines that form intriguing shapes. Wilderness campsites can be found on crown land surrounding the area. Snug Harbour lighthouse presides over the inlet while the Red Rock lighthouse appears as a squat fortress on a tiny island offshore. The hamlets offer fishing, marine services, cottage resorts and lovely beaches.
Ceud Mile Failte – A hundred thousand welcomes from the Municipality of Kincardine! In this community deeply rooted to Scottish Heritage and Culture, you’ll delight to the sights and sounds of Scotland…in Ontario! March with the Kincardine Scottish Pipe Band, as they parade Queen Street EVERY Saturday evening throughout the summer, a ‘must-do’ while visiting! Not visiting on a weekend? Be sure to take in one of our breathtaking Lake Huron sunsets, and listen to the tranquil sounds of the Phantom Piper who lulls the sun to sleep from atop the Kincardine
Join Captain Greg and his crew aboard the M.V. Chippewa III, a classic ship that once plied the waters of the Niagara River as a Maid of the Mist. Cruise to Henry’s or Craganmors, two island restaurants down the south channel that feature mouth-watering fish and chips. Experience a beautiful Georgian Bay sunset through the north channel while dining aboard this delightful ship. Afternoon and evening cruises are also on the schedule with barbecue items available to purchase. The ship has a licensed bar on board, carrying a variety of beers, coolers, wines, mixed drinks and soft drinks.
Grey Roots Museum & Archives is located on Grey Road 18, the city bypass west of Rockford. The impressive complex hosts exhibits, a theatre, café, museum store, archives and educational programs. Moreston Village is open daily during summer. See costumed interpreters perform pioneering life skills that would daunt the most accomplished multi-tasker! Buildings include 1800s log homes, a blacksmith shop, schoolhouse, 1900s automotive garage and bandstand. Special traveling exhibits change each season and children's programs augment the interest for young people. This summer's special
The Meaford Museum displays marine and farm artifacts, toys, traveling exhibits and archives of famous conservationist, John Muir who worked at a local sawmill. See Andrew Gawley's ingenious invention of his iron hands and the story of Beautiful Joe, a local dog made famous by a best selling Canadian book that raised international consciousness against inhumane treatment of animals. Ship models meticulously crafted by Meaford's own ship captain Bruce Shepperd, are on display. Meaford's apple industry is detailed by the Apple pie Trail exhibit. The collection also includes a speaker's chair
Martyrs' Shrine is a testimonial to North America's first canonized saints. The church is truly inspiring with its beautiful, Gothic-revival architecture and gardens. The site commands a panoramic view of Midland Bay from its picnic area. A museum contains sacred artifacts and the shrine welcomes ethnic pilgrimages each year. An education and conference centre can accommodate group retreats. Located on Hwy 12 East, the site opens daily, early May to late October.
The Collingwood Museum and tourist information are housed in the Station Welcome Centre at St. Paul & Huron Streets. The building is an impressive reincarnation of the original 1873 railway terminal. The museum displays genuine aboriginal artifacts and exhibits of Collingwood's shipbuilding days, including a video of the port's last side launch.
The Cup & Saucer Trail is located 18 km. west of Little Current at the junction of Highway 540 and Bidwell Road. The lower trail follows the saucer, or base of the bluff while the higher trail leads around the cup at the top of the escarpment. Several trail routes vary between 3.8 and 12 km. loops. The most challenging Adventure Trail encounters steep ledges and a rock chimney that has split off the main cliff face. The highest point on the island, at 352 metres above sea level, has views of the bays and surrounding countryside that are breath taking, especially during the autumn colour
A.Y. Jackson, a founding member of the famous Group of Seven Canadian artists, painted the scene of High Falls entitled "Spring on the Onaping River" in 1953. The scenic lookout and many other vantage points from a bridge and trails around the falls can be visited from the Onaping Falls pavilion and picnic area. Interpretive signs, rock exhibits and mining equipment relics describe the singular geology of the region that was shaped by a massive meteorite impact 1.8 billion years ago. The lookout is fully accessible, but the other trails are quite steep and rough in places.
Midland is Ontario’s premier mural community! The downtown and waterfront display over 40 historical murals, including North America’s largest outdoor mural. The murals can be toured to discover iconic aspects of the town’s heritage. Downtown Midland has an immaculately landscaped waterfront with harbour services, picnic areas, paved bike trails and specialty shops to interest visitors, with free 3-hour parking at community lots.
The museum is the former St. Edmunds Settlement School, which was opened in May 1967. The building, which dates back to 1898, houses land deeds and registers, together with many historical photographs and artifacts pertaining to the area. The ground floor has displays showing lumbering, fishing and hunting cultures that were the mainstay of the local economy for decades. The upper floor is dedicated to marine history, displaying maps, descriptions of old boats and relics from shipwrecks. The exhibits provide an insight into the shipping industry at that time, with many examples of tools and
Port Carling overlooks the boat locks between Lake Rosseau and Lake Muskoka where heritage steam ships Segwun and Wenonah II cruise through the channels. Bridge lifts are a regular occurrence when the ships move through the locks, providing a good photo opportunity for people who like to watch big machinery in action. Sunset Cruises' Peerless II gives sightseeing, sunset and dinner cruises from Port Carling to the most scenic nooks of the Muskoka Lakes. The Port Carling Wall is the world's largest historical, photo-mosaic mural that depicts an overall picture of a steamship made up
The Old Mill Heritage Centre building was originally a pulp mill built in 1925. The pulp was shipped by freighter to the United States to be processed into paper for Sears Roebuck catalogues. Later the mill was transformed into a hydroelectric generating station that supplied the island with power. The building now houses multi-media museum exhibits and the Old Mill Studios that do audio and video productions for families and organizations. Call 705-282-1442 for information. The Heritage Centre features evocative exhibits with an abundance of artifacts that reflect the history of Billings
Grand Bend Motorplex is a multi-purpose motorsport facility consisting of a ¼-mile Dragstrip, a ¼-mile high banked Oval track, a multi-circuit Road Course for cars & motorcycles, and a Moto-X facility. Operating from May to October. It hosts some of the largest motorsports events in the country plus open drag, moto-x, and lapping days for the public. With ample parking, VIP suites, tiered seating, pit area/campground with washrooms and showers, and a licenced food court, a trip to GBM is an outstanding day or weekend adventure. There are also tremendous opportunities
Muskoka’s shimmering blue waters, it’s majestic green pines, it’s spectacular scenery all await your discovery aboard the Sunset Cruisers - Peerless II. A whole new discovery. Take a cruise aboard Peerless II and see what Muskoka is all about. A unique part of the "Muskoka Experience" must include a cruise on one or more of the three big Muskoka Lakes. Take in the sights of the stunningly rugged and beautiful Canadian Shield on lakes Rosseau, Joseph or the biggest lake, Muskoka. We offer high quality cruises which allow you to sit back, relax and enjoy your view of the
Nottawasaga Lookout Provincial Park is located north of Singhampton at 794685 Osprey-Clearview Townline (Road 31), where the Bruce Trail provides a panoramic view of Nottawasaga Bay. A side trail to the north end of the park encounters the Singhampton Crevice Caves, where huge rock chunks have split off the escarpment to form a maze of deep corridors that lead in all directions. Interesting formations include Standing Rock and yawning chasms that meet at the top to make tunnels between the cool, mossy walls that drip with condensation. Nearby Devil’s Glen Provincial Park has a scenic
“Pants Optional- Kilts Optimal” This July, treat yourself and your family to a weekend that will be fondly remembered for many years to come. Come to Ontario’s Scottish Destination, Kincardine, Ontario for the premier Scottish event of the year; the 17th annual Kincardine Scottish Festival and Highland Games, July 6-8, 2018. Thrill to the spectacle of 30 Pipe Bands, 160 Highland Dancers, and feats of strength and skill in traditional Highland sports. There will be first class musical entertainment – something for all tastes and ages, featuring Ashley MacIsaac,
Centennial Museum of Sheguiandah is located on Hwy 6 where it showcases splendid pioneer heirloom artifacts and historical photographs. It also hosts alternating art exhibitions and summer children’s art programs. The exhibit has a large variety of antique farm machinery and vehicles. An impressive collection of fossils and prehistoric stone tools were excavated from a 9,500 year-old archaeological site just north of the village where prehistoric inhabitants gathered a particular type of rock that was used for making cutting tools. A noteworthy relic of American President
Towering cliffs surround the hidden enclave of Hope Bay with its lovely beach. Washrooms and a picnic site adjoin the beach. A trek along the Bruce Trail to the Jack Post Side Trail on the north escarpment reveals giant glacial potholes in the beautiful, old growth forest of Hope Bay Forest Nature Reserve where many rare ferns grow along the limestone cliffs. The cylindrical potholes were eroded out of the bedrock by spinning boulders caught in giant whirlpools during the previous Ice Age meltdown. They attest to the power of the vortices that were created as water surged between gaps in the escarpment.
The Gibson Gallery is housed in the former 1896 Michigan Central Railway Station. The Fort Malden Guild of Arts and Crafts (the Gallery Board), in partnership with the Ontario Trillium Foundation, have used funds earned at Art by the River to restore and maintain this beautiful Romanesque style building. The Guild promotes appreciation of the arts and crafts in Amherstburg. The Gallery season features exhibits by local artists, photographers, stitchers as well as travelling exhibits and annual student exhibits. Holiday Art at the Gallery is the final event of the season. Art and craft
Fathom Five National Marine Park contains both significant geological and man-made heritage sites such as unusual rock formations, shipwrecks and lighthouses. Flowerpot Island Tour boats visit the shipwrecks before docking at Flowerpot Island. Flowerpot Island cruises last an hour and twenty minutes and passengers may disembark to return on the boat later. A visiting fee is charged by Parks Canada. Flowerpot Island has two rock pillars on its east side that were created by wave and ice erosion. These sea stacks look like huge flowerpots; hence the name. Flat limestone shelves at water
The Park House is a year round museum catering to the needs of visiting school children, seniors and the general public. It brings the story of Amherstburg and its people to life through programs and exhibits that are created to engage and inspire all who visit. Historically, the Park House is an early example of Pièce sur Pièce log construction and is said to have been built in the 1790s at the mouth of the Rouge River in Detroit. When Detroit was ceded to the United States, the owners decided to dismantle the building and float it down the Detroit River to Amherstburg.The
Follow the road to South Huron for a weekend of adventure and great family entertainment that you won’t want to miss. The Exeter Ram Rodeo thunders back into town on August 5, 6 & 7, 2016. This year marks the 20th Anniversary of the Exeter Rodeo. The Committee is excited to announce that Amber Marshall, who stars as Amy Fleming on the CBC family drama Heartland, will be attending Saturday's performance and will be co-announcing the rodeo. Coming from Nashville, home town boy and country music artist, Zach Neil will be performing in the tent Saturday evening directly following the
Moore Museum preserves the history of life in Moore Township on the St. Clair River. The 12-building historic village engages you in discovering the life and work of past generations. Your heritage journey features a one-room schoolhouse, log cabin, Victorian cottage, historic church and more. Popular displays include the early 20th century general store and Lionel model train exhibit room. Self-guiding tour booklets for both adults and children and hands-on activity centres involve all ages in exploring the past. Ramp access and paved walkways make the site accessible and a picnic area
The 4th Annual Kingsville Folk Music Festival is a celebration of all styles of music, boasting 4 daytime session stages and evening main stage on the shores of Lake Erie in Canada’s most southern town. More than 30 award-winning, national and international performers, including Cowboy Junkies, Sylvia Tyson, Jimmy Rankin, Harry Manx, Splash N Boots and many more, juried artisans, local food vendors, award-winning Pelee Island Wines and Lonsbery Farm craft beers. Join us as we Celebrate Family! with expanded children’s workshops, activities and performers and a pancake breakfast.
North of Lion’s Head, Isthmus Bay Road affords dramatic views of cliff faces followed by a winding route through woods and meadows to St. Margaret’s Historic Chapel at 133 Forty Hills Rd. Built of limestone by early pioneers, the chapel has a charming interior and sturdy façade. The front windows feature iconic Christian symbols but the rear windows portray lovely native wildflowers in stained glass. The building is usually open to visitors and services are held on Sundays at 7:30 p.m. A small picnic area adjoins the chapel.
Take a stroll along Bluewater Park with its waterfront trails, outdoor pool, sheltered picnic area, boat launch, splash pad, pirate ship playground and beach. The centerpiece of the park is the South Bruce Peninsula Heritage Centre inside the original railway station. It contains elaborate woodwork, a beautiful oval oak bench and historical exhibits. Tourist information is located at the station. Beside the shore, a three-metre high, white dolomite statue entitled Willie Emerging pays homage to the revered rodent and town mascot, Wiarton Willie. The albino groundhog's residence can be viewed
Goderich is situated high on the bluffs that provide panoramic views of the lake and harbour. The sunsets are spectacular from Lighthouse Park on Cobourg St. just off West St.; there stands Lake Huron’s oldest lighthouse built in 1847. One can actually see the sunset twice by watching from the base of the bluff and then quickly climbing to the top to see the sun sink into the lake again. The park has a nice picnic area.
Cabot Head Road runs through the hamlet of Dyer's Bay and becomes increasingly austere until it reaches the lonely promontory. The Cabot Head Lighthouse, built in 1896, is a museum that contains nature displays and historical artifacts. The tower provides a panoramic view of the shoreline. A walkway leads to the Wingfield Basin and the shoreline lookout has a picnic area. Several shipwrecks lie within the natural harbour and they can be easily explored by snorkeling. Towering cliffs of the Cabot Head Provincial Nature Reserve make an impressive backdrop to this esoteric place. Nestled
The North Huron Museum holds archives for the Township of North Huron as well as exhibits and art shows that highlight local heritage, especially its prominence as a radio and television broadcasting centre. The museum opens May to August. The adjoining Alice Munro Literary Garden pays tribute to its famous, local author who recently won the Nobel Prize for Literature. The Alice Munro Writers and Readers Festival celebrates Munro’s accomplishments and encourages the development of literature through a number of social events and workshops for all ages at the end of September.The Barn
Beautiful Joe Park in Meaford is dedicated to the memory of all dogs that have been loyal companions and service animals to assist people in distress. Special monuments in the park commemorate Margaret Marshall Saunders' contribution to the humane treatment of animals through her internationally renowned novel "Beautiful Joe" based on her visit to Meaford and published in 1894. Other monuments acknowledge the contribution of K-9 units to police forces and rescue efforts during the September 11 bombing attack on New York. Other plaques list fond memories of pets by their owners. The park has
At the remote western tip of Manitoulin Island stands the Mississagi Lighthouse Heritage Park. Its austere, surrounding landscape is fascinating to explore. Deep rock crevices and grottos indent the shoreline, and limestone ledges are ideal for swimming and diving. The old foghorn station, lighthouse and originally furnished light keeper’s home open for tours as a museum during summer.
The Chrysler Canada Greenway is a 50-kilometre multi-use trail that is the southern-most section of the Trans Canada Trail between Old Castle and Leamington. It connects natural areas, rich agricultural lands, historically and architecturally significant structures, award winning wineries and many other features that make the Essex Region unique. The Greenway effectively joins 25 otherwise separate natural areas and three watersheds. It significantly improves the quality of life in the Essex Region by connecting people to nature and culture in a way that is accessible to all. Hiram Walker
Grotto of Lourdes Shrine is located on Frederick Street off Van Horne Street just east of the downtown core. This religious memorial was built by a French nobleman out of gratitude for having his prayer answered. The site overlooks Ramsey Lake with paths among sculptures of the Stations of the Cross, scenic views and splendid flower gardens. Recent additions to the park include the Sudbury Labyrinth of monuments to a variety of faiths.
Dynamic Earth inspires people of all ages to engage with the science in the world around them. The science centre's fun and friendly approach to science education is led by Bluecoats - real scientists and science communicators who make interacting with the exhibits even more informative and fun. NEW! Dynamic Earth Outdoor Science Park A new outdoor science park and exploration trail system features earth science and mining themed exhibits. Large-scale exhibits include a crawl-through cave, musical instruments made of natural materials, and real mining equipment with interactive
Visitors can explore the world-renowned village of Sainte-Marie among the Hurons in Midland, an authentically re-created 17th century fort and site of the early Jesuit missions to the Huron. Costumed interpreters add realistic perspective to the palisade community, while an audio-visual presentation and museum provide historical background. Sainte-Marie is located on Hwy 12 East and opens May to Thanksgiving daily 10 a.m.- 5 p.m. Sainte-Marie Park, a spacious picnic area beside the Wye River, is located opposite the enclave on Wye Valley Road and links the site with the Tay Waterfront Trail
The best access to the spectacular cliff top views of the Bruce Peninsula north of Wiarton is via Bruce Road 9 past an immaculate cliff shrine at Colpoy's Bay. Road 18 leads to Cape Croker, which has stunning views of the escarpment from the Baywatch Park lookout and picnic area. The Bruce Trail and a boardwalk traverse a wetland and rugged cliffs that surround Sydney Bay’s beaches. Cape Croker lighthouse can be seen at 75 Lighthouse Road, which is a secluded spot strewn with wildflowers. A 250-degree panoramic view of the bay is possible from the lighthouse.
Rainbow Lodge is a serene, friendly cottage to spend a day, weekend or vacation.The lodge is 2000 square feet in size and has two bedrooms, full kitchen, barbecue, beautiful fireplace and large dining area. It is beautifully furnished with rustic woodwork, striking decor and modern amenities for a comfortable stay. Smaller cabins are also available. The lodge provides a retreat for the canoeist, kayaker, artist, fisherman, hiker, executive group or simply anyone seeking peace and tranquility. The breathtaking view of Northern Ontario, full of old growth forest, teems with wildlife
The Goderich Celtic Roots Festival is a celebration of Celtic, roots, folk, and acoustic music on the shores of Lake Huron in beautiful Lions Harbour Park. 3 days and over 60 hours of music from around the world on 5 stages; craft artisan village, children's activity area, and fresh local food court. Event runs rain or shine, children 12 and under are free. TThe festival is on August 9-11, 2019.
Champlain-Wendat Rotary Park marks the 1615 meeting at Penetanguishene between Samuel de Champlain and the Wendat First Nation in historic Huronia. Bronze sculptures of "Champlain's Rendezvous" as well as Governor Simcoe and a giant effigy of Champlain's famous astrolab, grace the park. The waterfront trail connects the park with lovely flower gardens, a beach, skatepark and Penetanguishene harbour.
Come enjoy the route less travelled, on the west coast of the Bruce Peninsula! Sail past islands once home to a local still, a First Nations smokehouse and one of the oldest permanent structures in Bruce County. Visit shipwrecks and bird nesting sites, on comfortable pontoon boats. (Including one with a glass-bottom.) Learn about the history of the indigenous people and early mariners of our past. Soak in the beauty of the globally rare coastal environment of the Fishing Islands of Lake Huron, in a small-group experience. Birding, photography, sunset, swimming and snorkelling
Billy Bishop Home was built in 1884 and showcases the Bishop family history. It is also the boyhood home of William Avery “Billy” Bishop, the charismatic hero of the Great War. An adventurous, mischievous and restless spirit, Billy was driven to be the best in all he did. Special programming includes, but is not limited to: Victorian Teas (summer and Christmas); Veterans' Commemoration ceremonies; ghost walks; summer children’s programs; Trivia Night; Victorian Christmas; and Bringing the Museum to You. Visit us to view ever changing exhibits on
Goderich's tidy, landscaped waterfront is perfect for swimming, water sports and picnics; 1.5-km. boardwalks connect three lovely beaches that have playgrounds, washrooms, snack booths and flower gardens. During summer, the Celtic Blue Highlanders preserve tradition by Piping Down the Sun every Friday one hour before sunset at the beach. The Marine Heritage Walkway features signs that describe hidden points of interest and history about the town’s waterfront along the beach paths, harbours and bluff lookouts. The Sifto salt mine operates a veritable underground city of roadways and
Northwinds Beach is located directly beside Highway 26 at Craigleith, where visitors can enjoy a sheltered, sandy pocket along a shoreline dominated by shale ledges where anglers can drive directly up to the edge of Georgian Bay to fish from their vehicles. During summer, the beach is a popular spot for windsurfing, paddle boarding and kayaking rentals. The Mary Ward shipwreck and Nottawasaga Lighthouse lie 4 km offshore where they can be viewed by boat. Just across the highway, Craigleith Heritage Depot has a visitor information centre and museum that exhibit Petun First Nation
"The bridge that love built" is said to have been built by an engineer who fell in love with one of the Ball daughters while he was working on the bridge at the mouth of the Maitland River. The engineer then built Ball's bridge in 1885 to allow his beloved to cross the river more easily and the two were consequently married. The double span, iron truss bridge is a rare example of early construction prowess in Ontario and it presides over a picnic area beside the tranquil Maitland River, which is also a canoe launch and a good fishing spot. The Little Lakes Road crosses the bridge to follow a
Lighthouse Cove is a scenic port located at the end of County Rd 39 and the mouth of the Thames River. The 20-metre high stone lighthouse that was built in the 1800's, marks the location of Lighthouse Cove Conservation Area, a picturesque picnic spot on Lake St. Clair, which is known to anglers for its gigantic muskies. The Cove also has several marinas and restaurants that cater to boaters.
Visitors to Fort Malden can step back in time and get a glimpse of what military life was like in a British Empire outpost almost 200 years ago. The fort played an important role in both the War of 1812 and the Rebellion of 1837. The site, located along the Detroit River, includes original earthworks, restored barracks, cannons, an orientation centre and an interactive museum. Fortifications at Fort Malden have witnessed and participated in the struggles that helped forge a new nation out of the North American wilderness. The fort has been an army garrison, British Indian Department post,
This private museum has an international collection of some 6,000 objects all artistically displayed in a historic gallery setting. From unusual fossils to rare and remarkable gems, dinosaurs and artifacts, our vast collection is always on permanent display, with regular new additions. Of particular interest are the extensive exhibits of colourful, exotic insects, shark jaws, seashells, fluorescent minerals and one of the largest displays of mounted bears in Canada.Whether you're looking to while away a rainy afternoon with your kids or booking a bus trip full of budding entomologists,
The famous Bruce Trail follows Moore Street to the east bluff and leads up to the top of the escarpment through the Lion’s Head Provincial Nature Reserve, providing panoramic views of the bay. This area contains the largest concentration of glacial potholes in Ontario and it has many challenging rock faces that are favourites among climbers. The potholes are huge cylinders that were bored into the rock by stones caught in whirlpools during the Ice Age meltdown. Hikers can climb into and through some of the potholes that have open walls. The region also boasts the province’s
The Greater Sudbury Museums tell fascinating stories about each part of the region. Explore Anderson Farm Museum to see how Finnish farmers cultivated a prosperous dairy farm out of the bush and discover the secrets of local ghost towns. The farm exhibits beautiful antique home furnishings, a milking parlour, stables and a full complement of agricultural equipment to explore. Anderson Farm Museum also hosts events July to August such as Rock the Farm Farmers’ Markets Wednesdays 4-8 p.m. with free Music Concerts 6-8 p.m. Its Fall Fair is held mid-September. The museum opens daily 10
Wasaga Beach Provincial Park is unique since it is located within the boundaries of the town as a day-use park. Its parabolic dune system is the largest in Ontario. Rare plants and animals such as the Piping Plover and Eastern Hognose Snake find refuge in the park. The beach areas are numbered starting at the east end by the river mouth. Area 1 includes boat launching, fishing platforms, special events court and beach boardwalk. New Wasaga Beach and Allenwood Beach, on River Road East, are favourite spots for windsurfing and kite boarding. Area 6 has an information centre, band gazebo, soccer
Bruce’s Caves are named after a hermit who once inhabited them at 502098 County Road 1 east of Oxenden. Follow the Bruce's Caves Road to the parking lot where a short trail leads to the caves. Sea caves are flanked by rock pillars and mossy cliffs festooned by unusual ferns. Hikers can clamber through huge archways and hidden tunnels that were eroded from the escarpment over 10,000 years ago when glacial melt waters raised the Great Lakes levels to that height.
Huronia Museum invites visitors to explore its fascinating exhibits that portray the art, culture and history of the Huronia-Southeastern Georgian Bay region. The gallery displays photographs and paintings from the archives plus seasonal exhibitions and a film series. A tour of the Huron-Ouendat Village takes visitors into the palisade entrance and interior of the dwelling. Step into the past as you experience the culture of the Huron First Nation through games, drumming, chants, wood smoke, food preparation and longhouses lined with animal skins.
The Community Waterfront Heritage Centre is located at the harbour in Owen Sound's former 1930's CN Railway Station. The museum displays all sorts of historical artifacts relating to the marine and railway industries that helped to shape the city as a major Great Lakes port. Exquisite models of ships adorn the exhibits and a full size railway dining car awaits inspection by visitors. From mid-June to mid-August, the site hosts Harbour Nights Sunday Concerts with a variety of live entertainment in summer. The famous Ancaster Tug is displayed beside the building and visitors can tour the
The island is home to Pelee Island Winery's vineyards and wine pavilion where several tours daily are available from May to October. Tours include the pavilion grounds and a wine appreciation seminar. Visitors will learn about the island's unique history and the reason why it's such a great place to grow grapes. Knowledgeable tour guides explain the mechanical design of an antique European Grape Press. They also provide an overview of the fine art of corks; how they are made and why a good cork is so important to great wine. The 'Vine to Wine' process is highlighted by a video
Windmill Lake Wake & Eco Park is a unique, environmentally sustainable outdoor recreation park on Ontario's West Coast. Set in over 200 acres of forest, fields and with a private 40-acre lake, WLW is the perfect setting for all your outdoor fun year-round. Activities include cable wakeboarding, stand up paddle boarding, canoeing, kayaking, pedal boating, SUP Yoga and much more! We have beginner as well as intermediate/advanced wakeboarding cables, and we are also the first bi-level wake park in Canada. Located only 5 minutes from Bayfield and the beaches of Lake Huron, WLW is also home to
The Lambton Heritage Museum, on Hwy. 21 south of Grand Bend, is home to an outstanding collection of distinctive, one-of-a-kind items, each having its own story to pass on to future generations. Here you will discover the only remaining horse-drawn ambulance in Ontario, the largest collection of pressed glass water pitchers in Canada, a church built in 1867, rare John Goodison steam engines, an exceptional collection of stoves made by the Doherty Stove Co. and a notable collection of furniture from 19th century Lambton County.Since opening in 1978, the Lambton Heritage Museum has been
The pretty town of Meaford hugs the south shore of Georgian Bay where the blue waters stretch to the horizon, affording grand sunsets as well as prime fishing and boating. The harbour, with its tidy walkways, is a snug haven for pleasure craft, while the downtown shows off fine Victorian architecture. The Westfort retired coast guard vessel is displayed beside the harbour along with other marine heritage artifacts. The Georgian Trail links Meaford with Thornbury and Collingwood along its scenic, packed cycling path. The Bighead River estuary is a good spot for Rainbow trout angling in the
The S.S. Keewatin Steamship Museum, docked at 311 Talbot St. in Port McNicoll, was the last passenger steamer to ply the Great Lakes. The ship's elegant Edwardian decor includes mahogany paneling, polished brass, silver dinnerware and Italian hand-etched skylights.Its decks, cabins, lounges and dining room are furnished with accoutrements and costumes in various styles of the historical periods it spanned. Knowledgeable guides relate background stories to visitors about a bygone era of travel that was luxurious even by today's standards.
The Museum building holds collections regarding the United Empire Loyalists and artifacts and information on the People of Essex County and their involvement in the defense of their country in the Fenian Raids, Boer War, World War 1, World War 2, Korea, Cold War, Peacekeeping, Bosnia, Afghanistan and much more. Two new displays featuring police uniforms from three different groups: the OPP, RCMP, and the Kingsville Police Force and a display of municipal flags from Gosfield North, Gosfield South, and Kingsville from pre-amalgamation until present are available. A recent article in the
Kincardine Lighthouse is perhaps the best known lighthouse on Lake Huron since it directly overlooks the harbour close to the downtown core. The 24-metre high, octagonal tower is topped by an iron cupola and stands above the former lightkeeper's quarters. Since 1881 keepers fueled the light with kerosene to guide ships into the busy harbour until the beacon was replaced by an electric light in 1922. The building now houses the Kincardine Yacht Club and the museum where visitors may explore intriguing marine heritage displayed throughout its yacht club lounge, bedrooms, navigation room and
The Menesetung Bridge-Tiger Dunlop Trail begins at Goderich harbour behind the grain elevators and it can also be accessed from North Harbour Road. The trail may be walked or cycled and the first 4 kilometres are wheelchair accessible. The view from the bridge above the estuary is spectacular and many an angler has a favourite spot to fish for salmon or rainbow trout along the Maitland River’s expansive valley. From there the trail continues east along the Goderich-Auburn Rail Trail. Another option is the Heritage Tree Trail that leads west to the lake past a massive 200 year-old oak
“Come touch history” in downtown Mindemoya. The Central Manitoulin Historical Society - Pioneer Museum was created to preserve the contributions made by the early settlers of Campbell, Carnarvon and Sandfield Townships. The Museum has over 5,000 artifacts, most of them donated by local families to preserve their heritage. Collections reflect area history with emphasis on pioneer life, farming, fishing and lumbering. Special displays are featured in the adjacent Welcome Centre. Visit the covered bridge to see the family tree posters of some of our first settlers in Central
The Chatham-Kent Museum is the vibrant community promoter of historical Chatham-Kent that inspires a love of learning! For over 70 years we have been collecting and preserving the material heritage, and the stories associated with it, significant to the citizens of Chatham-Kent and using this material to educate and engage citizens in a stimulating environment. Highlights in the collection include a nationally designated Gray-Dort automobile, several locally-made horse drawn vehicles, and Emma Milner’s award winning art. The Milner Heritage House, which is seasonally operated, takes
Big Chute is located on the Trent-Severn Waterway via White’s Falls Road 34 or Big Chute Road 17 from Coldwater. This idyllic spot beside the Severn River is one of the world's most spectacular routes by water or highway. The waterway enables boaters to navigate the chain of rivers and lakes as a short cut from Lake Ontario to Georgian Bay. Most of the 45 locks operate by raising and lowering water levels, but Big Chute Marine Railway employs a carriage that transports boats from one body of water to another. This is the only lift of its kind in North America. Visitors can enjoy
In 1889 Pointe au Baril lighthouse replaced a lantern-topped barrel as an historic landmark. The site has a panoramic view of the channel and it maintains boat docks with a beautifully landscaped causeway and flowerbeds. It is accessible only by boat and opens for tours Thu. - Mon., 9-5 in summer. Emmaline, the lighthouse keeper makes fresh baked goods for sale. The lighthouse also displays historical photos and artifacts of the region.
Fish Point, on the southwestern tip of Pelee Island, is a 110-hectare Provincial Nature Reserve. It features dunes and the intriguing, crescent shaped sand spit that constantly shifts with water erosion along this most southerly tip of Essex Region that is inhabited. Middle Island, an uninhabited nature reserve located a bit further south, is the absolute most southern land in Canada. Dangerous rip currents can be present at the tip during windy conditions so swimming there is not recommended. Hiking and cycling trails and continuous beaches provide access to the area. Fish Point contains
Point Edward's Watefront Park has a fantastic view of the twin Bluewater Bridges spanning the St. Clair River between Michigan and Ontario as well as the constant parade of boat traffic between the river and Lake Huron. Enjoy a stroll or bicycle ride along the Bluewater Shoreline Trail, snack on fresh fries or ice cream from the food concessions, visit St. Paul's Anglican Church with its historic mariner traditions or see the Port Huron lighthouse across the river. Boaters can use the services of local marinas. The nearby Point Edward Casino offers gaming and entertainment on the shoreline in
FIDDLER ON THE MOOSE - A MUSICAL RIDE ACROSS CANADA with JESSE and FriendsMAY 2 -19VPP favourite Jesse Grandmont leads us on a musical celebration from coast to coast, of great Canadian bands and artists...sharing humorous Canadian tidbits (and timbits) along the way.THE BIRDS AND THE BEES by Mark Crawford - THE NEW HIT COMEDY Everyone’s Buzzing AboutMAY 30-JUNE 17You’ll laugh out loud as The Birds and the Bees tackles sex, love, family, beekeeping…and the artificial insemination of turkeys.HAPPY TOGETHER 1967 - MUSIC and MEMORIES of CANADA’S CENTENNIAL YEARJULY
Every year thousands of visitors arrive at the Bruce Power Visitors’ Centre to learn more about nuclear energy and electricity generation. Looking out over the world’s largest nuclear power facility, the Visitors’ Centre is located north of Tiverton, adjacent to Ontario’s first commercial wind farm, Huron Wind. It is open year-round Monday to Friday as well as weekends in July and August; closed statutory and year-end holidays. Admission is free with complimentary Wi Fi and electric car charging stations. A picnic area with tables is available during the warmer months
Collingwood was once one of the busiest shipyards and industrial ports on the Great Lakes. Today the harbour supports some fishing tugs, recreational docks, boat cruises, boat rentals, a sailing school and a dragon boat-canoe club. The Harbourlands feature a marine walkway with embedded plaques that describe every ship that was launched from the Collingwood shipyards. Other nautical artifacts are displayed throughout the scenic path up to the end of the breakwall where Millenium Park exhibits a colourful display of historical monuments that tell the story of this dynamic harbour.
Tobermory’s two national parks feature an exciting Visitor Centre, located on Chi sin tib dek Road or off Head Street at the southeast edge of the village. Exhibits explain the fascinating geology, ecology and cultural history of the parks with a tour through a mock-up cave, secrets of the underwater park and a miniature lighthouse. A film show takes visitors on a helicopter ride over the peninsula’s most spectacular scenery. Interpretive programs put people in touch with indigenous plants and animals they might encounter in the wild. A 20-metre high, wooden lookout tower, the
Jack Seabrook’s Farm Museum is Manitoulin’s biggest collection of antique vehicles and machinery, located on Hwy 542 East. Many of its visitors revel in nostalgic memories and say the museum is the finest on the island. One building contains a full line of Massey tractors and a La France fire engine stands outside. Over 50 vintage tractors gleam with their original colours. All of the machines are safely displayed and meticulously labeled indoors along with a 1927 Chevrolet, 1916 Model T Ford, a shiny red Diamond-T pickup truck and hundreds of smaller implements and tools. A
Port Albert is tucked in the Nine Mile River valley as the sort of place most people overlook but want to keep to themselves once they find it. A small park and fisheries display centre with historical signs are nestled below the dam where the stream rushes over the fish ladder. The river lazily flows through pools before spilling over a sandbar into Lake Huron. Anglers congregate there to catch salmon and trout from May to September and there are nice fishing holes above Highway 21 also. The sandy beach is a perfect spot for sunbathing in summer and viewing sunsets along the beach is
The Pelee Island Heritage Centre aspires to research, collect and preserve the evidence of the Island’s (and neighbours’) human history, to protect the community’s natural heritage, and to educate the public through exhibits, publications, special presentations and its extended stay education program. The Heritage Centre contains fascinating displays of island artifacts that depict the geography, nature and history of Pelee Island. Exhibits include fossils, wildlife and wonderful photographs of pioneering times. The centre also hosts daily video presentations and a Kite
Little Cove is a fascinating part of Bruce Peninsula National Park, just east of Tobermory. A small parking lot and interpretive sign are the only facilities located a short walk from the cove. It is a favourite dive site for SCUBA divers since it holds underwater cliffs, caves and concoidal fractures that are caused by post-glacial pressure releases on the rock. The Bruce Trail follows the shoreline where extremely rugged and picturesque rock formations are located. Hikers should be wary of their footing; the rocks are slippery when wet. Sea stacks, eroded passageways and holes in the
Grey County Road 1 (Island View Drive) follows the shoreline eastward from Wiarton to Owen Sound for spectacular vistas of Georgian Bay's islands, escarpments and unusual points of interest. Colpoy's Lookout is the first picnic area at 141 Skinner's Bluff Road with a lofty view of the bay. Big Bay names itself the “stone skipping Capital of Canada” since all the stones on its beach are flat pieces of shale. The area has an over-abundance of stones that have been put to good use as stone fences, which can be seen between many farm fields throughout Keppel Township. Nearby Keppel
The Miss Midland & the Serendipity Princess Boat Cruises - Georgian Bay/Muskoka Take a morning or afternoon sightseeing cruise and experience the sparkling water, windswept pines and rocky grandeur of Muskoka/Georgian Bay’s 30,000 islands – the finest cruising area in the northern hemisphere. You may wish to enjoy a lovely cruise before dinner, or for the perfect ending to a carefree summer day, we offer memorable Sunset Cruises among the beautiful islands of Muskoka/Georgian Bay where you can dance or sing along with the evening’s entertainment or simply relax and
The Huron County Museum is a first-class community museum offering visitors modern exhibition galleries. Temporary exhibits cover a wide spectrum of subjects of special interest. Permanent exhibits depict the early settlement and development of Huron County. The History Hall, with store fronts and a locomotive, allows you to stroll back in time. An extensive Military Gallery, Furniture Gallery and Agricultural Displays interest and fascinate the visitor. The Huron Historic Gaol is a unique and imposing octagonal building which served as the County Jail from its opening in 1841
Point Clark Lighthouse is a stunning national historic site that has been beautifully restored in keeping with its heritage architecture that was constructed 1855 to 1859 to warn sailors of a dangerous shoal 3 km offshore. The tower's elegant design and limestone walls are typical of only six "Imperial" style lighthouses found along the Great Lakes. It still serves as a navigational beacon that is automated, but the history of its lightkeepers is displayed inside the museum. Visitors can climb numerous flights of stairs to see the spectacular view from the light cupola. Guided tours explain
Pretty River Valley Provincial Park is a nature reserve that straddles the escarpment southeast of Blue Mountain. The Bruce Trail and several side trails run through the area where mossy limestone, fern covered outcrops and hidden crevice caves abound. The cave passages are very narrow and fun to explore. Petun Conservation Area is another rugged trail area located just 1 km north of the Pretty River Valley trails. The park is also accessible below the escarpment from Nottawasaga Side Road 30/31 or Pretty River Road. It is not advisable to venture off trails in winter due to the danger of
“With deep roots, the sky is our only limit” Explore the villages of Providence Bay, Mindemoya, Spring Bay, Sandfield and Big Lake, home to beautiful beaches and lakes. Tourist services include accommodations, restaurants, LCBO, pharmacy and grocery store. High speed internet and cellular service is available in most areas. Boat launches are located at: 570 Dial Road at Windfall Lake, 25 Hutchinson Road at Manitou Lake, northwest end of Big Lake, Perivale Road West at Kagawong Lake, and Ketchankookum Trail at Mindemoya Lake. A marina is located at Providence Bay. Manitoulin
Inglis Falls is the best known and most visited waterfall north of Toronto! Inglis Falls is an 18-metre high cascade created by the Sydenham River tumbling over the edge of the Niagara Escarpment. The erosive power of the water has carved a deep gorge at the base of the falls. Water flows all year over the Falls. In the late fall season the river welcomes the Salmon Run when the salmon return to the river to spawn. Inglis Falls Conservation Area is a 200-hectare site offering something for everyone: a viewing platform to see over the stone wall; 7.42 km of trails of various
Lighthouse Point Provincial Nature Reserve occupies about 100 hectares on the island's northeastern spit and has several hiking trails, a long sandy beach that extends down the island's east side and the Pelee Lighthouse. On the west side of the spit, Lake Henry Marsh offers wildlife viewing opportunities and spectacular sunsets. The Blue Racer Snake, the Eastern Spiny Soft-shelled Turtle, and the Smallmouth Salamander are among several rare species found within the reserve. There are remnants of deciduous forests, savannas and an expanse of wetland rich in aquatic plants. The reserve
The Saugeen River has gained a reputation as the best family canoe route in Ontario. It has clean water and many idyllic swimming holes. It is navigable for 100 km. from Hanover to its mouth at Southampton and even further upstream when water levels permit. Rapids rarely exceed Class 1 or 2, which makes the river easy to paddle for beginners. Canoe and kayak outfitters are located in Hanover, Walkerton, Paisley and Southampton. The Saugeen Valley Conservation Authority maintains several parks in the watershed and there are numerous access points along the river. For a route map, call
Parry Sound’s Charles W. Stockey Centre for the Performing Arts overlooks the waterfront as the crowning jewel of the community. It proudly holds the Bobby Orr Hall of Fame, which pays tribute to the hockey hero’s accomplishments through a film, memorabilia and interactive hockey games. The Festival Performance Hall hosts the Festival of the Sound, which is Canada's premier summer music festival mid-July to mid-August on beautiful Georgian Bay. The acoustically perfect concert hall, licensed bar and waterfront patio make this a memorable venue as patrons can watch stunning